Elected government of the Sovereign Order of Malta

The Sovereign Council assists the Grand Master in the government of the Order of Malta. It is composed of the Grand Master, who presides over it, the holders of the four High Offices (Grand Commander, Grand Chancellor, Grand Hospitaller and Receiver of the Common Treasure) and six members. Apart from the Grand Master, they are elected for a five year term by the Chapter General. The Sovereign Council is called by the Grand Master and meets at the seat of the Order of Malta at least six times a year and whenever special circumstances require it. From 28 January 2017, following the resignation of Fra’ Matthew Festing from the office of Grand Master, the Sovereign Order of Malta is governed by a Lieutenant ad interim in the person of H.E. Fra’ Ludwig Hoffmann von Rumerstein. He will stay in office until the election of a new Grand Master.

Lieutenant ad interim and Grand CommanderH.E. Fra’ Ludwig Hoffmann von Rumerstein


Grand Chancellor

H.E. Albrecht Freiherr von Boeselager

Grand Hospitaller

H.E. Dominique Prince de La Rochefoucauld-Montbel

Receiver of the Common Treasure

H.E. János Count Esterházy de Galántha



H.E. Fra’ John E. Critien
H.E. Fra’ John T. Dunlap
H.E. Fra’ Duncan Gallie
H.E. Fra’ Emmanuel Rousseau
H.E. Winfried Graf Henckel von Donnersmarck
H.E. Geoffrey D. Gamble

Maltézsky rád Slovensko

Kapitulská 9, 81101 Bratislava, Tel./Fax: +421 2 5413 1296, e-mail: